The Boy from Sparta

DISCLAIMER: This was inspired by a Stucky FanFic “Keep on Going Through the Show” by Lauralot

I was told a story from long ago
About a boy and a fox that he wouldn’t let go
I didn’t know that at the time
The same simple story of a boy would be mine

It started out simple enough
They were teaching little boys just how to be tough
Steal anything, but don’t get caught
And that same little boy he had a great thought

I’d steal a fox he said
Hid it in his coat he did
It gnawed on his skin
But the boy didn’t flinch and
He passed the test
When time came to rest
All of his friends –
Called him stupid in the end

When I told this story to my friends they said
That the little boy deserved to die in the end
Why steal something that ate your flesh?
And I shook my head, cause they didn’t get it

It’s not about what the boy stole
It’s about the story as a whole, as a whole
Don’t you see how it reflects
What we all do everyday and –

They looked at me like I’m insane
That I didn’t use my brain
I laughed and I groaned
Do you really want to know?
I took a breath
And then I said
That boy didn’t die till he let the fox go

It’s just like how, I said to them
How we say everything’s okay in the end
Even though it’s not we refuse to show
If we do, then it’s real, and then we would know
That we would run over the edge
A breaking point we cannot mend
We’d rather be some stupid clown
Than release the fox and then fall down

I was told a story from long ago
About a boy and a fox that he wouldn’t let go
I didn’t know that at the time
That same simple story of a boy would be mine

Leave a Reply

